International Theatre Dance Awards 2016

The IDTA is delighted to announce the results of the International Theatre Dance Awards 2016, held at Royal Northern College of Music 124 Oxford Road, Manchester, M13 9RD on 13th and 14th February 2016

Our congratulations to the winners, recipients of the special commendations and Awards and to all those who were nominated.

The International Theatre Dance Awards are obtainable only through audition. Candidates are initially nominated by the Association's Examiners when taking the higher Grades or Performers examinations through a qualified teacher. Eight awards are granted in Ballet, Theatre Craft, Tap, and Modern Jazz at higher Grade and Performers level. Over 500 candidates out of more than 7,500 are nominated each year for these awards and those who are successful are awarded a trophy and a cheque to further their dance career. Certificates are awarded to every nominee and the teachers of the winners.

Winners of the International Theatre Dance Awards 2016

Theatre Craft Grades: Theatre Craft Performers:

Ballet Grades: Ballet Performers:

Tap Grades: Tap Performers:

Modern Jazz Grades: Modern Jazz Performers: Megan Little Francesca Kennedy

Francesca Goode Corina Clarke

Megan Little Abigail Tildsley

Erin Chapman Bree Quinton Marron Theatre Arts Walsall Academy of Dance

The Dance Factory Debra Simmons School of Dance

Marron Theatre Arts Marron Theatre Arts

Lara Academy of Dance Sharon Berry School of Theatre Dance

~~~000~~~

### Special Commendations 2016

#### Theatre Craft Grades

Amy Civil Millie Liddle Lauren Wood Taylor Robson Elena Davidson Imogen Earley Amelia Henderson Aobhinn Quirke Chloe Radford

### **Theatre Craft Performers**

Abigail Tildsley Georgia Robson Taela Yeomans-Brown Bethany Gill June D Gill School of Dancing Elaine Milbourne Performing Arts Wirral Theatre School Marron Theatre Arts Elaine Milbourne Performing Arts Elaine Milbourne Performing Arts Strickland Cook Theatre School Cork Arts Studios Cardwell Theatre School

Marron Theatre Arts Marron Theatre Arts Livingston Academy of Dance Victoria Stansfield School of Dance

### **Ballet Grades**

Ella Slingsby Camille Ribeiro Rosie Johnston Chiara Privitera Megan Little Lottie Bunney Laura Rose Cashin-Hardiman Faith Hepburn

### **Ballet Performers**

Shannon Clarke Tianna Carter Abigail Taylor Chloe Byrnes Andrew Ashton Taela Yeomens-Brown Emma Cornish Hannah Swift

### Tap Grades

Rosie Johnston Faith Hepburn Millie Liddle Sophie Bond Grace Hawksworth Lauren Cryer Remy Evans Amy Civil Taylor Robson

### **Tap Performers**

Charlotte Warne Molly Fairclough Birdie Thorpe Georgia Robson Rebecca Hanneman Charlotte Troth.

### Modern Jazz Grades

Caitlin Hanlon Hannah Sowerby Hannah Elliott Georgia Aspinall Lola Kinard. Lauren Wood Leah Derby Phoebe Roberts Charlotte Dyson Kirbie Franks Olivia Lallo Sandy Gray School of Dancing Joze School of Performing Arts LWHS School of Dance Academia Royal Marron Theatre Arts Hazelbiz Performers Academy Mayo School of Ballet IBC School of Dance

The Riley School of Dance The Marilyn Jones Dance Centre Caroline Carr Dance Studios Strickland Cook Theatre School The Red Shoes School of Dance Livingston Academy of Dance Cardwell Theatre School Gwyneth Hare School of Dance

LWHS School of Dance IBC School of Dancing Elaine Milbourne Performing Arts Nottingham Theatre Dance Victoria Stansfield School of Dance Wendy Charles School of Dance Livingston Academy of Dance June D Gill School of Dancing Marron Theatre Arts

Marron Theatre Arts Phil Winston's Theatreworks Sharon Berry School of Dance Marron Theatre Arts Sharon Berry School of Dance Marilyn Baker School of Dance

Hoylake School of Dance Wendy Charles School of Dance Elaine Milbourne Performing Arts Lynne McCheynne Mullen Theatre School Wirral Theatre School Adele Taylor School Adele Taylor School Adele Taylor School Penelope's Dance Studio Sharon Wood School of Dance Modern Jazz Performers Abigail Tildesley Emma Griffin Madeleine Jones Georgia Robson **Emily Gardiner** Molly Fairclough **Bethany Mortimer** 

Marron Theatre School Marilyn Baker/Gemma Grayson School Marilyn Baker/Gemma Grayson School Marron Theatre Arts Cardwell Theatre School Phil Winston's Theatreworks Hoylake School of Dance

~~~000~~~

Awards presented in conjunction with the International Theatre Dance Awards

Taylor Robson W.J. (Bill) Tasker Theatre Craft Award: Marron Theatre Arts This award is kindly donated by Mrs Margaret Tasker, in memory of her late husband, W.J. (Bill) Tasker, Financial Director

of the IDTA, from 1971 - 2002, and founder member of the Theatre Dance Awards Committee.

Veronica Tweedale Bursary Award: Tabitha O'Sullivan Elite Academy of Performing Arts Veronica Tweedale was a much loved and respected dance teacher and choreographer throughout Stoke on Trent and the Midlands Area. The Veronica Tweedale Bursary Award is given for the 1st Special Commendation for the Ballet Grades.

Gladys Thorpe Memorial Award:

Gladys Thorpe was for many years a highly respected teacher and examiner of the IDTA, serving on the Theatre Council and Technical Committees. The Ballet Faculty is pleased to present a Bursary Award and a Memorial Trophy to a young dancer who displays exceptional potential in Classical Ballet from the Performers section of the International Theatre Dance Awards.

Ken Dodd Tap Award Girls: Ken Dodd Tap Award Boys:

Megan Little Thomas Matthews

Marron Theatre Arts Cardwell Theatre School

Ken Dodd continues to offer his support to our nominees by generously donating two trophies in memory of his agent, Keith McAndrews. Two award winners are chosen by guest adjudicators.

Pam Tidmarsh Bursary Award: Megan Little

Pam Tidmarsh was a very well respected teacher, Examiner and Director of the IDTA, especially for the Midlands Area where she was much loved. The Pam Tidmarsh Bursary Award and Trophy are donated by Jeanette Haines and Gillian Hughes and is awarded to the 1st Special Commendation in the Modern Jazz Grades.

Peggy Harrison Award

Taella Yeomens-Brown Livingston Academy

Peggy Harrison is an Honorary Examiner, teacher and holder of the IDTA Distinguished Service Award. The Peggy Harrison Award is made to the 1st Special Commendation in the Modern Jazz Performers.

~~~000~~~



## Marron Theatre Arts

Shannon Clarke The Riley School of Dance