Board of Directors, Faculties and Committees

President 2023-2024: Yvonne Saunders
President Elect 2023-2024: Joanne Kirkland
Immediate Past President 2023-2024: Linda Cook
Financial Director 2023-2024: Michael Sandham
Honorary Director: Len Armstrong


Lady Fearn of Southport, Shirley Ballas, Anton du Beke, Erin Boag, Darcey Bussell BBE, Simon Green, Dollie Henry MBE, Karen Hilton MBE, Marcus Hilton MBE, Bonnie Langford, Dame Arlene Phillips DBE, Angela Rippon CBE,  The Rt. Hon Anne Widdecombe PC DSG, Jukka Haapalainen, Sirpa Suttari.

Directors 2023-2024

Lynn Armsby, Dallas Chapman, Philip Diment, Colin Donaldson, Loraine Hastings, Anna Henrich-Jones,  Wendy Heywood, Vanessa Hooper, Darren Kelly, Lynda King, Dawn Parker, Michael Sandham, Barbara Sharples, Denise Skinner, Bryan Thomson, Phil Winston.

Chief Executive Officer:

James Stockdale

Chief Operations Officer:

Elizabeth Murphy


Michael Sandham (Financial Director) currently overseeing Accounts


Ballroom Branch Faculties (2022-2023)

Ballroom Faculty

Linda King (Chairman), Lynn Armsby, Dawn Parker, Michael Sandham, Yvonne Saunders, Jill Kemp (Reserve)

Latin Faculty

Yvonne Saunders (Chairman), Lynda King, Lynn Armsby, Anna Jones, Michael Sandham, Jill Kemp (Reserve)

Sequence Faculty

Dawn Parker (Chairman), Dallas Chapman, David Harwood, Tracey Taylor

Freestyle Faculty

Jill Kamp (Chairman), Nigel Edgar, Loraine Hastings, Anna Jones, Dawn Parker, Lisa McLean (Reserve)

Quality Assurance Panel – Ballroom

Consists of the four Faculty Chairmen, Chief Executive Officer.


Theatre Branch Faculties (2022-2023)

Ballet Faculty

Joanne Kirkland (Chairman), Vanessa Hooper, Annette Bromley, Lynda Cardwell, Gillian Hopkinson, Donna Wilcox (Reserve).

Contemporary Modern Jazz Faculty

Linda Cook (Chairman), Lisa Handley, Shani Mitchell, Carl Walker, Phil Winston, Michelle Upton (Reserve)

Tap Faculty

Vicky Durning (Chairman), Mariyka Bolubasz, Wendy Cowan, Jennifer McCrow,  Emma Turner, Vicki Richardson (Reserve)

Theatre Craft Faculty

Vicky Stansfield (Chairman), Elizabeth Kendrick, Ian Meeson, Linda Regan, Denise Skinner

Musical Theatre Faculty

Lisa Handley (Chairman), Elizabeth Kendrick, Ian Meeson, Linda Regan, Denise Skinner

Quality Assurance Panel – Theatre

Consists of the four Faculty Chairmen, Chief Executive Officer.


Finance & General Purposes Committee (F&GP)

Financial Director (Chairman), President, President Elect, Chief Executive, Colin Donaldson, Lynda King, Joanne Kirkland, Michael Sandham, Yvonne Saunders.

London Meeting and Congress Arrangement Committees Ballroom and Theatre

Ballroom: Philip Diment, Colin Donaldson, Dawn Parker, Yvonne Saunders

Theatre: Linda Cook, Joanne Kirkland, Vanessa Hooper, Phil Winston

Miss Dance of Great Britain

Joanne Kirkland (Chair), Sharon Berry, Sandra Houldsworth – Secretary,  Linda Lister, Christine Minott, Lisa Sykes.

International Theatre Dance Awards

Michelle Upton (Co-chair), Donna Wilcox (Co-chair), Wendy Heywood

Nationwide Medallist of the Year Committee

Dawn Parker (Chairman) Anglia: Wendy Anderson, North East: Cynthia Coleman, North West: Wayne Turner, South East: Dawn Armitage, South West: Keith Laughton, Tyne Tees: Ann Haining.

Supreme Medallist Couples Competitions Committee

President, Financial Director, Chief Executive, Lynda King, Philip Diment, Michael Sandham, Bryan Thomson.

Publicity Committee

President, President Elect, Financial Director, Chief Executive, Phil Diment, Colin Donaldson.

Awards Committee

President, President Elect, Financial Director, Chief Executive, Lynn Armsby, Barbara Sharples.

Overseas Development Committee

President, President Elect, Financial Director, Chief Executive, Anna Jones, Joanne Kirkland, Yvonne Saunders, Bryan Thompson.

IT Committee

Chief Executive, David Cooke (IT Consultant), Gavin Stevens (IT Support), Joanne Kirkland, Michael Sandham.


IDTA Representatives

British Dance Council (BDC)

BDC Council: President, Philip Diment, Colin Donaldson, Reserve: Yvonne Saunders
BDC Sequence Advisory Committee:
BDC Teachers Committee: Michael Sandham
BDC Contemp / Freestyle Advisory Committee: Anna Jones res Dawn Parker

Sports and Recreation Alliance

Joanne Kirkland

Council for Dance, Drama and Musical Theatre

Lynn Armsby., Elizabeth Murphy

Theatre Dance Council International

Linda Cook, Barbara Sharples

Federation of Dance Awarding Bodies

Michael Sandham


Note: All committees, chairmen and representatives are elected annually in September by the Board of Directors. A list of IDTA Examiners is available from IDTA Head Office. Please call 01273 685652 or email